Be safe. Be wild.

I had this surreal realization wash over me the other morning; something we had talked about, planned, debated for months was finally happening. It didn’t hit me packing up our first apartment together. It didn’t hit me driving away from the Chicago we had called home for years. It hit me just sitting on the front stoop at Luke’s parents in Larchmont.

We decided to quit our jobs and flee the country with what we’ve been calling a “rough plan” but is really no plan at all. We just decided to do this huge thing, then we made it happen. We made it happen. Maybe it’s just me but I think it finally hit me just how cool that is.

…then we made it as far as Houston. The less romanticized part of traveling: delays. But part of the adventure all the same. People around us were yelling at the poor airline associates and Luke and I were patient, kind, and probably the only people who got a free hotel. We spent a night in undoubtedly the nicest hotel we’ll stay in all year and attempted to spend $60 in meal vouchers at a dry bar hotel.

IMG_3608Yes, missing our connection was a bummer but also a great reminder as to why this year is going to be so great: each other. I know no one who rolls with the punches better than Luke.

We are ready. We have every cord, peanut, raincoat, solar powered charger, and pack lock we could possibly need. Everyone has lovingly been reminding us to be safe which I think made me more nervous than I expected. Then I finally talked to spirit animal and travel guru Jenna Essakow and she reminded me of just what I needed to hear. “Be safe. Be wild.” We promise to be safe but that’s not what this trip is about; it’s about the wild crazy world out there for us to see.

-Meg

Leave a comment